Uncategorized

Welcome to Belle of Booktopia & World Book Day 2017

What better day for me to dive head first back into blogging than on the day celebrating the thing I plan to write most about! Happy World Book Day and welcome to my new blog Belle of Booktopia

world-book-day-2017

According to their website, World Book Day is pretty self explanatory- a celebration of authors, illustrators, books and most importantly reading. On this day in the UK, publishers, booksellers, and the ltd behind the celebration get together to provide children with vouchers that can be redeemed for one of ten free titles available. The main aim of the celebration is “to encourage children to explore the pleasures of books and reading by providing them with the opportunity to have a book of their own.” How cool is that? And why hasn’t this caught on stateside yet? (To be fair, according to Wikipedia, there is a street festival in Maryland to celebrate, but c’mon Yanks- we can do better than that… #Merica).

World Book Day is also celebrated and officially recognized by UNESCO (the United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization…duh) on April 23 and this is typically when other countries that recognize the day will celebrate. April 23 was chosen because Shakespeare, Cervantes, and Inca Garcilaso de la Vega all died on that day. Sad. In Spain they celebrate by reading Don Quixote for a two-days-straight readathon. Maybe I will join in spirit and read along half a world away! One of my 2017 Reading Challenge stretch goals is to read a book in Spanish to try and stir up all that knowledge from high school and undergrad. Hmmm…

I am thrilled to get this blog up and running. I plan to post book reviews and monthly/book haul recaps, as well as other bookish tips and all things reading related. Goodreads, Book of the Month, podcasts, Book Clubs… the possibilities are endless! The ultimate goal is to get a BookTube channel up and running, but that is too intimidating for me right now, so I thought I’d at least take the first step with a medium I’m familiar with. Thanks for reading and check back soon for site updates and new content, for now-

“Off to the cupboard with you now, Chip. It’s past your bedtime. Goodnight, love…”

2 thoughts on “Welcome to Belle of Booktopia & World Book Day 2017

  1. Good for you! Your blog looks to be interesting and intelligent, but most of all fun. I have already learned something new. I can honestly say, I look forward to your next post. πŸ™‚ Keep up the good work.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Nancy! I’m still working out the kinks (for example seeing when someone comments so I can reply!). Also I just realized that while my posts were being shared to Facebook- they were set to private so no one could see them…. such a rookie, but I’m learning!

      Like

Leave a Reply

