To Be Read

Books I’ve Added to my TBR List this Month (so far…)

list

This week the main thing on my brain has been the release of the live action Beauty and the Beast movie. The original animated version is probably my favorite movie. My cats are named Belle and Beast. This blog uses Belle in the title. B&B paraphernalia can be found throughout my house. To say I am excited, distracted, FREAKING OUT is probably an understatement. That said, I haven’t dedicated a ton of brain power to blogging (sad!), but I wanted to at least do a simple post to keep the ball rolling. Here are the books I have added to my To Be Read (TBD) list this month:

  1. The Legendary Miss Lena Horne

    the-legendary-miss-lena-horne-9781481468244_hrThis is actually a children’s picture book, but I’ve heard it is beautiful and a wonderful biography of pioneering African American entertainer and civil rights activist Lena Horne.

  2. The Book of Joy

    book of joyThis book had been popping up on my Goodreads feed and I’m pretty sure I saw it in the New York Times Book Review as well. Sounded interesting and like something a lot of us could use right now given the current state of world affairs/our country.

  3. Trainwreck: The Women We Love to Hate, Mock, and Fear… and Why

    trainwreckThis book was selected as our April Book Club pick. I know very little about this but am very excited to read it! Ever since getting hooked on Pantsuit Politics, nuance has been a pretty big buzzword for me, and I think this book and the discussion of it will be chock full of it.

  4. Lincoln in the Bardo

    lincolnThis book has been everywhere. On the podcast, in the newspaper (with a review by Colson Whitehead of Underground Railroad fame!), on Goodreads. I want to see what all the hype is about!

  5. Dance of the Jakaranda

    dance of theThis book was definitely in the New York Time Book Review. Here’s the excerpt that hooked me:

    “Kimani has done a game job managing the carpentry of this ambitious novel, bringing great skill to the task of deploying multiple story lines, huge leaps back and forth in time and the withholding and distribution of information…Once Kimani has his plotlines all set, his writing relaxes, and it’s here that you can see his raw talent…I have never read a novel about [Kenya] that’s so funny, so perceptive, so subversive and so sly.”

    Sign me up!

  6. Exit West

    downloadWe read Mohsin Hamid’s book “How to Get Filthy Rich in Rising Asia” for book club last summer. It was interesting, but wasn’t something I read and thought “Oh my gosh I have to read everything by this author ever”. Then Exit West showed up as one of the Book of the Month options for March. At first I thought I’d skip it, but then I read the synopsis and heard some of the excellent reviews that are out there- it’s a refugee love story with a magical realism twist. Excited to give it a try!

So that’s what I’ve added SO FAR… my TBR is growing way faster than I can keep up and I haven’t even added recent mentions from the “What Should I Read Next” podcast yet! How do you keep track of the books you want to read next? Where do you find book recommendations? I’d love to hear about your resources, but for now…

Off to the cupboard with you now, Chip. It’s past your bedtime. Goodnight, love…”

Leave a Reply

