Monthly Recaps · To Be Read

June 2017 Book Haul

thumb_IMG_1640_1024

What happened to June? Where did it go? How is it already July? One word my friends… ORIENTATION. June is the busiest month of the year for my job, putting in 60+ hour work weeks pretty much since the second week of the month. We have to get 3000 new students ready to come on campus in the fall, which is no small feat!

That explains why I haven’t been blogging (sad face) and also why I missed my reading goal for the month (super sad face). Nevertheless- the show must go on!!!

I’m getting back into the blogging groove with a nice easy book haul post. Here are the new little babies I added to my collection this month:

  1. A Million Junes by Emily Henry

    thumb_IMG_1646_1024This was my Book of the Month Club selection for June. It’s supposed to be a sort of Romeo and Juliet retelling with a sprinkle of magical realism tossed in. Sounds right up my alley! I’ve also heard really good things about another BOTM June Book- The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid, so I hope I made the right pick πŸ™‚ Interested in BOTM? Follow my referral link for more info.

  2. The Heirs by Susan Rieger

    thumb_IMG_1645_1024I received this ARC in exchange for an honest review from Blogging for Books. This book is about an upper class New York family thrown into turmoil when two “illegitimate” additional heirs turn up following the death of the family patriarch. The premise reminds me of The Nest, which I actually liked quite a bit. This is going to be my July ARC- excited that I was able to get a physical book so early in my reviewing career!

  3. In the Country We Love: My Family Divided by Diane Guerrero

    thumb_IMG_1643_1024I have been dying to read this since last fall, but decided to wait for the paperback to come out in May. BUT then I had a 20% Barnes and Nobel coupon and got the hardcover anyway. Sigh. Best laid plans, am I right? Anyway this is the memoir of Diane Guerrero, who many of you may know from either Orange is the New Black or Jane the Virgin. Diane was just 14 years old when her parents and brother were deported, and this book details her struggle and resilience, staying in the US to complete her education and start her career. I’m reading this to fulfill the “Immigrant Story” category for my 2017 Reading Challenge.

  4. It’s Your World By Chelsea Clinton

    thumb_IMG_1642_1024This was a gift and WONDERFUL surprise from a sweet friend and fellow book lover who saw Chelsea speak in Chicago a few weeks back. He’s privy to some personal struggles I’ve been going through, and after explaining them to Chelsea, she wrote “Good Luck” when she autographed this book for me! I laughed, I cried, and it was just the pick me up I needed! This is Chelsea’s book written for young adults about how to be good global citizens and make an impact on the world. Very excited to check in out and have Chelsea on my side πŸ™‚

  5. Option B by Sheryl Sandberg and Adam Grant

    thumb_IMG_1641_1024Β Sheryl actually came to Milwaukee at the beginning of June and I attended the event (been meaning to do an Author Event post for weeks…) and received a signed copy of the book with my ticket. Sheryl, of Lean In fame, wrote this book following the sudden tragic death of her husband and the subtitle really says it all: Facing Adversity, Building Resilience, and Finding Joy. I just started this earlier this week and it’s pretty good so far.

So that’s my haul for this month! I also read five books, which puts me at a net gain of zero in terms of working on my TBR and unread books stack (yikes), but what’s a book lover to do? Have you read any of these? What did you think? I can’t wait to hear all about it, but until then…

β€œOff to the cupboard with you now, Chip. It’s past your bedtime. Goodnight, love…”

Leave a Reply

