Book Blog Memes · Top Five Wednesday

Top Five Wednesday #2

118368

Excited for a second round of this meme! This meme is hosted by Lainey and Sam via the T5W Goodreads group and has been around since November 2013. Each month after taking suggestions from the group of over 7000 members, the hosts select themes for each week. This week’s theme is “your Top Five books that do not include a romance.”

“A few (very, very few) people complained about the “shipping” topics lately, so I thought it would be good to talk about books that don’t have a romantic subplot! This is a really hard one, so if you can’t find any, you can talk about some where the romance is super super minor. Like barely mentioned… at all…”

I had a feeling my picks would end up being kid lit or non-fiction and I was right!

  1. Anne of Green Gables by LM Montgomery

    AnneofGG
    While this book is chock full of family love and the love between good friends, there is very little romance despite Anne constantly (and adorably) proclaiming something to be romantic every few pages. I read this for the first time this year and it became an instant favorite.

  2. To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee

    To_Kill_a_Mockingbird
    This book is due for a re-read. I read it once in high school and again about five years ago, but I truly believe this is a book you should read several times throughout your life and you’ll get something new out of it every time.

  3. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

    book thief
    Similar to Anne, this story is still a book about love, just not romantic love. Also apparently I have a soft spot for orphan girls finding a new home and family. This book is so sweet and one of my all time favorites.

  4. I Am Malala by Malala Yousafzai

    malala
    This book was so good and timely and inspirational. Malala has already been such a force for good for her people and the world, and she’s still a teenager. The tragedy she endured only made her stronger. I can’t wait to see all this amazing young woman will accomplish in her lifetime.

  5. Dreams From My Father by Barack Obama

    Dreams_from_my_father
    Another book I’m due to re-read. This book is President Obama’s memoir about his upbringing and heritage. I remember being absolutely captivated by this, but I was in my early 20’s when I read it, and think I would get even more out of it now. I believe he does talk about meeting Michelle and their courtship, but that’s not a focus of the book from what I remember, so I thought it would be fair to include in this list!

Would it be hard for you to come up with a list like this? Or would you be able to default to traditionally unromantic genres like I did? Can’t wait to hear about your picks, but until then…

Off to the cupboard with you now, Chip. It’s past your bedtime. Goodnight, love…”

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Top Five Wednesday #2

    1. Thanks! I’ve been meaning to read Markus Zusak’s other book for AGES but I’m scared it won’t live up to The Book Thief hype. Everyone I know really liked it a lot. On the other hang, I probably will never read the To Kill A Mockingbird sequel that came out. Go Set A Watchman? I have not heard good things…

      Like

Leave a Reply

